kidworldcitizen

When I was getting my Master’s in Teaching English as a Second Language, I was fascinated how multilingual children learned a second language. We all know that their brains are wired differently, that they are little sponges soaking up what they hear and see in their environment, and that they pick up languages faster than us adults. It was a given that I would raise my children with more than one language. I knew that while infinitely rewarding, it would also be hard work to speak my non-native, non-dominate language to them, in a pretty monolingual community. Fast-forward 4 years and my first daughter was born- now it was time to put theory into practice. Having my studies come alive (quite literally), and observing how my daughter used her 2 languages was fascinating. One time when she was a little over 2 years old, she was asking me for something…

View original post 1,128 more words

Leave a Reply

